What I Did On My Summer Vacation (Part 1)

Hello, internet.  I know I have been woefully absent from my little fledgling blog, and for that I am sorry.  I plan to make that up to you, tenfold, in the coming days/weeks/months.  To begin my atonement, I present to you a multi-part series entitled What I Did On My Summer Vacation.

(Original, I know.)

To kick it off, I give you a photo recap of our weekend mini-trip to NYC for the Jazz Age Lawn Party on Governor’s Island.  For those of you unfamiliar with it, the Jazz Age Lawn Party is a big two-day 1920s-style lawn party, complete with costumes, cocktails, a big band and dancing.  I’d wanted to go for years, so this year I decided it was time.  I gathered my cheap beads and a vaguely art deco-esque Urban Outfitters dress I’d scored at Buffalo Exchange* and hopped on the bus with the husband (and his old-timey bathing suit) in tow.  Here’s what the day looked like.

A full lawn.

Adam and Trudy in full regalia.

My dear friend Emily channels 1920s bohemian.

Emily x 2.

Me and my fella.

Balmy temperatures and long lines** notwithstanding, it was a mighty fine time.

Stay tuned for the next episode of What I Did On My Summer Vacation!  I promise there’s even more good stuff to share soon…

* I don’t shop at Urban Outfitters, for reasons maybe someday I’ll blog about.  #highhorse

** They eventually started bringing free cocktails to us poor souls waiting in the food lines…

5 thoughts on “What I Did On My Summer Vacation (Part 1)

Leave a Reply

